APPENDIX 'A'

THE AERONAUTICAL SOCIETY OF INDIA

NOMINATIONS FOR COMBINED AWARDS FOR THE YEARS 2020 & 2021

1. NATIONAL AERONAUTICAL PRIZE

This prize was instituted by the AR & DB in 1988. The prize amount was increased from Rs. 20,000/- to Rs. 50,000/- in the year 1994, and to Rs 1,00,000/- in year 2006.

<u>Objective</u>: to recognize outstanding contribution (s) in design/development of fundamental and applied work in the field of Aeronautics.

<u>Scope</u>: The award shall be made in any of the various disciplines of Aeronautical Sciences, Production Technology, Operations, Research & Education. In appropriate cases the award can be made to a group of persons in a particular endeavor. The award doesn't have to be made if nominations are not of the required standard.

The award comprises a certificate and cash prize of Rs. 1, 00,000/-.

2. DR. BIREN ROY SPACE SCIENCE AND/OR DESIGN AWARD

This prize was instituted in 1985. The prize amount was increased from Rs. 10,000/- to Rs. 20,000/- in the year 2006.

<u>Objective</u>: To encourage Indian Space Scientists.

<u>Conditions</u>: Awarded for outstanding contribution in space sciences.

3. DR. BIREN ROY TRUST AWARD

Dr. Biren Roy Trust instituted this prize in 1983. The prize amount was increased from Rs. Rs. 10,000/- to Rs. 20,000/- in the year 2006.

Objective : To encourage scientists.

<u>Conditions</u>: Awarded for outstanding contribution in the field of Design, Development, Maintenance, Operation, Training, Manufacture and allied areas of Aviation and Space.

4. DR. V.M. GHATAGE AWARD

This award was instituted in 1984 on the occasion of the 75th Birthday of Dr. Ghatage. The prize amount was increased from Rs. 10,000/- to Rs. 20,000/- in the year 2006.

<u>Conditions</u>: Awarded for outstanding contribution in the field of Design, Development, Maintenance, innovation, Operation, Training, Manufacture and allied areas of Aviation and Space.

<u>Eligibility</u>: Should be a Indian citizen, current member of the Society and <u>below the age</u> of 40 years on 01 January 2020. Please mention your membership number in the <u>application.</u>

5. EXCELLENCE IN AEROSPACE EDUCATION AWARD

This award was instituted by the Society in 1991 and was to be conferred every alternate year, however, since 1993, this has been made an annual award. The prize amount was increased from Rs. 10,000/- to Rs. 20,000/- in the year 2006.

<u>Objective</u>: This award is conferred for outstanding contributions, in the field of Aerospace Education. It is open to all those persons/Institutions actively engaged (at least 15 years) in the teaching/and or research training in the aerospace field. Persons who retired within last one year may also be considered for this award.

6. PRODUCTION TECHNOLOGY AWARD

This award was instituted by the Society in 1993. The prize amount was increased from Rs. 10,000/- to Rs. 20,000/- in the year 2006.

<u>Objective</u>: To be awarded to a worker who is recognized as an outstanding technician within his organization and has made contribution (s), which clearly illustrate his quality of proficiency.

7. INDIGENISATION OF AERONAUTICAL EQUIPMENT AWARD

This award was instituted by SIATI in 1994. The award amount was increased from Rs. 10,000/- to Rs. 20,000/- in the year 2006.

<u>Objective</u>: To be awarded for outstanding achievements in the field of Indigenisation of Aeronautical Equipment, including ground-handling equipment.

8. SWARNA JAYANTI AWARD

This award was instituted in January 1999 on the occasion of Golden Jubilee of the Society. The prize amount was increased from Rs. 25,000/- to Rs. 50,000/- in 2006.

<u>Objective</u>: To be awarded for outstanding contribution by a young achiever in the field of Aviation, Aeronautics or Aerospace.

<u>Scope</u>: The award shall be, made to a Scientist, or any other professional like programme manager, airline professional, pilot, manufacturing technologist, maintenance personnel etc.

<u>Eligibility</u>: Should be an Indian citizen, current member of the Society and <u>below the</u> <u>age of 40 years on 01 January 2020. Please mention your membership number in</u> <u>the application.</u>

9. BHARAT RATNA JRD TATA AWARD

This prize was instituted in 2011 by The Aeronautical Society of India for Excellence for Outstanding contribution in the field of Civil Aviation in India by an individual/ Corporate/ Enterprises.

This Award carries a Plaque.

10. BHARAT RATNA DR. APJ ABDUL KALAM AWARD

This Award is instituted by The Aeronautical Society of India from 2016.

Objective: To be awarded for outstanding innovation/ productionisation of a project of National interest by a team in the field of Aeronautics and Astronautics.

This award carries a cash prize of Rs. 30,000/-.